April 2011 Issue

International Airspace

Reader David R. Wilkerson is incorrect when he says (Unicom, February 2011), "[A]irspace can have more that one designation, even under ICAO." Firstly he mentions TRSA, which is not part of ICAO airspace designations. Instead, itís a carryover from old U.S. airspace designations. Some TRSAs still exist today usually because traffic volumes are not sufficient to make them Class C airspace. Participation remains voluntary within them. Other airspace designations used in the U.S. are not ICAO designations. These include MOA, MTR and restricted areas.

To continue reading this entire article you must be a paid subscriber.

Subscribe to Aviation Safety

The monthly journal of risk management and accident prevention, is packed with useful, timely information on basic and advanced technique, accident analysis and, most important, practical articles on how you can develop the judgment that will keep you in the air and out of the NTSB's files.

Already subscribe but haven't registered for all the benefits of the website? Click here.

Subscriber Log In

Forgot your password? Click Here.